Southwestern Medical Foundation's is dedicated to engaging the public in important conversations about progress in medicine. Perspectives is a medical blog featuring inspiring stories of research, philanthropy, medicine, and more.

Filter by category

June 30, 2023

Celebrating Kathleen Gibson


It is with great appreciation that we celebrate the leadership of Kathleen Gibson. She led the Foundation as President and CEO from 2012-2023.

June 29, 2023

A New Era Underway: A Message from Michael McMahan, President & CEO of Southwestern Medical Foundation


A thank you message from Michael McMahan, the new President and CEO of Southwestern Medical Foundation.

June 16, 2023

A New Law Brings New Giving Opportunities to Set Up a Legacy IRA

Planned Giving

Secure Act 2.0 introduces a legacy IRA option to plug into your retirement strategy. Here’s how it could impact your plans.

June 15, 2023

Planning Matters Spring 2023

Planned Giving

A bi-annual communication about planned giving from Southwestern Medical Foundation and UT Southwestern Medical Center.

June 15, 2023

Welcome Dr. Saad Omer, Founding Dean of the New O’Donnell School of Public Health

Planned Giving

Dr. Saad Omer is an internationally recognized epidemiologist, who previously directed the Yale Institute for Global Health.

June 9, 2023

The Wildenthal Society Luncheon 2023


The Wildenthal Society Luncheon 2023 photo gallery.

Ed Cary, III, alongside Michael McMahan at the Southwestern Medical Foundation Board of Trustees Annual Meeting 2023

June 1, 2023

Annual Meeting of the Board of Trustees 2023 Photo Gallery


Annual Meeting of the Board of Trustees 2023 photo gallery.

May 23, 2023

An Everlasting Legacy: Dedicating the White Coat of Dr. Charles Sprague

Awards, Events and Scholarships

Honoring the everlasting legacy of Dr. Charles C. Sprague by dedicating the white coat he once wore to be on display in Sprague Collage at UT Southwestern.

Where are they now - past ho din award winners featured image of past winner dr. goldstein.

May 16, 2023

Past Ho Din Award winners: Where are they now?

Awards, Events and Scholarships

Looking back at 80 years of excellence for recipients of UT Southwestern Medical School’s top graduate award, presented by Southwestern Medical Foundation.

Whitney Stuard, M.D., Ph.D. and Ho Din Award Winner being interviewed.

May 11, 2023

Dual Passions for Ophthalmologic Research & Care Inspire 2023 Ho Din Award Winner

Awards, Events and Scholarships

Standout medical student with an M.D./Ph.D. awarded the 2023 Ho Din Award. This award represents excellence in academics and compassionate care. Dr. Whitney Stuard joins a Southwestern Medical Foundation legacy that dates back to 1943.

Tricia Beall at the Richard Mays Smith Award 2023 Luncheon

May 4, 2023

Richard Mays Smith Award 2023: Photo Gallery

Awards, Events and Scholarships

The Richard Mays Smith 2023 luncheon brings together donors and scholarship recipients. This is a family that has built a legacy around supporting medical education.

May 4, 2023

Save the Date: An Evening with DocStars 2023


An Evening with DocStars is a celebration of innovative minds and community support around early state research. Join us on November 2, 2023, for a night of impact.