A Message from Michael McMahan

More people have moved to the Dallas-Fort Worth region than anywhere in the United States over the last 10 years, and the generosity of our socially and culturally diverse Metroplex continues to drive progress forward. Philanthropy plays a key role in attracting innovators and their ideas, and Texans (native or not) rarely shy away from an opportunity to pursue something bold. In that spirit, community visionaries and the brilliant medical leaders at UT Southwestern Medical Center have worked together over the last 80 years to achieve a number of groundbreaking advances in fields ranging from biosciences and brain treatment to mental health, cancer, pediatrics, and beyond.

As we enter yet another era of discovery, I can’t imagine a more exciting time to join Southwestern Medical Foundation. Although the world has faced events that have tested us in ways we couldn’t have imagined, we’ve shown that we can respond with grace, resilience, and grit. This will come in handy as we continue to address our pressing needs. Texas ranked 48th in the country in overall state health performance two years ago, and today, the disparity of life expectancy across North Texas is alarming—a distance of a mere two miles translates to a 26-year difference. We have to do better.

Perspectives 2023

A World of Difference: Celebrating Unparalleled Impact

Our 2023 edition of Perspectives features a look at the unparalleled impact of The Sprague Award recipients for 2022. Additionally, we celebrate 50 years of collaboration with two Nobel Laureates, Michael S. Brown, M.D., and Joseph L. Goldstein, M.D. Together, they toast the incredible feats achieved so far, celebrate the medical breakthroughs around the corner, and honor the community leadership – both past and present – that has made it all possible.

Read More

To that end, this issue is devoted to spotlighting the efforts of community standouts who are paramount in overcoming these challenges. Our cover story features The Sprague Award honorees of 2022: Maureen and Robert Decherd, Nancy and Jeremy Halbreich, and the Thompson family. These stalwarts have provided significant support to advance health care through contributions of time, leadership, and resources.

We also celebrate the more than 50-year partnership between Drs. Joe Goldstein and Mike Brown, UT Southwestern’s first Nobel Laureates. The duo established their lab in 1972 and received the 1985 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for discovering the LDL receptor and its role in cholesterol metabolism. Their partnership continues to flourish, thanks in large part to the support of a generous community whom they wish to thank for encouragement and support of their work for so many years.

By combining vision with action and service, we can collectively build a better world. We encourage you to join us in this mission—and we encourage you to invite the newcomers you meet—so that incredible collaboration and immeasurable advancements can continue to make this community the best possible place for all families to live, work, and thrive.

Michael McMahan
President & CEO, Southwestern Medical Foundation