Two female med students
Vanatta Fund scholarship recipients Priscilla Liem and Dr. Savannah Hampton. Funds established by the Vanatta family at Southwestern Medical Foundation have supported many outstanding faculty and students.

Investing in Our Healers

The Foundation manages endowment funds to provide both merit- and needs-based scholarships, as well as faculty chairs, fellowships, and professorships. Foundation funds are used to attract and retain the most talented faculty and students across the U.S. — and beyond.

The Foundation helped create the Endowed Program for Scholars in Biomedical Research, which provides essential research funding for new assistant professors which has launched the careers of over 100 investigators. These early-career researchers receive $600,000 over four years to ensure a successful launch of their careers at UT Southwestern.

Ho Din Award

In 1943, at the first meeting of the Board of Trustees of Southwestern Medical College, The Ho Din Award was instituted by the Southwestern Medical Foundation to recognize those who exemplify the unique personal qualities embodied in all great physicians – medical wisdom combined with human understanding. It represents the ideals and aspirations on which the school was built and continues to be the highest honor bestowed on a UT Southwestern medical student today. Learn more about the Ho Din Award and Foundation awards.