Dr. James “Brad” Cutrell received the Ho Din Award in 2007. He would go on to be instrumental in UT Southwestern’s response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

In 1943, at the first meeting of the Board of Trustees of Southwestern Medical College, The Ho Din Award was instituted by the Southwestern Medical Foundation to recognize those who exemplify the unique personal qualities embodied in all great physicians – medical wisdom combined with human understanding. In special circumstances, it may be awarded to faculty members or administrators who have exemplified the spirit of Ho Din through their service to humanity.

Ho Din Award Medal

The Ho Din Award

A Legacy of Excellence in Medical Education

The Ho Din Award represents the ideals and aspirations on which the school was built and continues to be the highest honor bestowed on a UT Southwestern medical student today.

2022 Ho Din Award Winner
Cayenne Price, M.D.

Dr. Price was asked to participate in a marketing video for UTSW Medical School, but was surprised to find out she was the 2022 Ho Din Award Recipient.

Ho Din Award Winners

2023Whitney Stuard Sambhariya, M.D., Ph.D.
2022Cayenne Price, M.D.
2021Natasha Houshmand, M.D.
2020Priyanka Gaur, M.D., M.P.H.
2019Bethany Werner, M.D.
2018Philip D. Tolley, M.D.
2017Lauren Elizabeth Kolski, M.D.
2016Samuel T. Parnell, M.D.
Donald W. Seldin, M.D.*
2015Laurie Seidel, M.D.
2014Andrew Avery, M.D.
2013David Leverenz, M.D.
2012Thomas Heyne, M.D.
2011Geof LeBus, M.D.
2010Michael Van Hal, M.D.
2009Tyler Hollmig, M.D.
2008Sara Lindsey, M.D.
Joshua D. Mitchell, M.D.
2007James B. Cutrell, M.D.
2006Hayden Schwenk, M.D.
2005Michael Paul Herman, M.D.
2004William F. Schmalsteig, M.D.
2003James Isbell, M.D.
2002Christine Kulstad, M.D.
2001Preeti Malladi, M.D.
2000Kerry Brandt Dunbar, M.D.
1999Lance E. Oxford, M.D.
1998Shannon Neville, M.D.
1997David W. Wimberley, M.D.
1996Ruby Elizabeth Andrews Kassanoff, M.D.
1995George N. Papaliodis, M.D.
Charles Cameron Sprague, M.D.*
1994Joe K. Wells III, M.D.
1993Robert Charles Kowal, M.D.
1992Thomas Alonzo West, M.D.
1991Patricia Ashley, M.D.
1990Mary Bridget Carter, M.D.
Bryan Williams, M.D.*
1989Philip Anthony George Karpos, M.D.
1988Mary Zieglschmid-Adams, M.D.
1987Clifford Richards Lyons, M.D.
1986Preston H. Blomquist, M.D.
1985David L. Klamer, M.D.
1984Lucien M. Rouse, Jr., M.D.
1983Elizabeth Albright Schneider, M.D.
1982Scott Pearson Stringer, M.D.
1981Barry M. Rose, M.D.
1980George Frederick Leatherman, M.D.
1979Michael F. Knox, M.D.
1978Paul Richard Vanatta, M.D.
Steven Milton Walther, M.D.
1977Susan Elizabeth Epstein, M.D.
Roy Steven Paulson, M.D.
1976Charles Prentice Crumpler, M.D.
1975Turner M. CaIdwell Ill, M.D.
1974Steven Edward Zinn, M.D.
1973Barbara Elizabeth Murray, M.D.
1972Joseph Earl Davis, Jr., M.D.
1971Kent Eugene Rogers, M.D.
1970Hayden Lester Klaeveman, M.D.
1969James Clark Huff, M.D.
1968Walter Lee Peterson, Jr., M.D.
1967William Larkin Berry, M.D.
Jonas Edward Rosenthal, Jr., M.D.
1966Joseph Leonard Goldstein, M.D.
Kaye Evan Wilkins, M.D.
1965Charles Lynn Skelton, M.D.
1964Marshall Drue Denton, M.D.
1963James Henry Herndon, Jr., M.D.
Stanley Augustus Lightfoot, M.D.
1962Kenneth Lecil Ford, Jr., M.D.
1961Charles James Carrico, M.D.
1960William Darrell Willis, Jr., M.D.
1959Billy Paul Kincaid, M.D.
Kenneth Marvin Wiggins, M.D.
1958Billy Wayne Henderson, M.D.
1957George Ellison Hurt, Jr., M.D.
1956Rolland Clinton Reynolds, M.D.
1955Mary Alice Bone, M.D.
1954David Crittenden Haseltine, M.D.
1953Charles Patrick Oles, M.D.
Patrick Franklin Rose, M.D.
1952John T. Binion, M.D.
Cesar A. Collazo, M.D.
1951Sherman Tipton Coleman, M.D.
1950George Alva Edwards, M.D.
1949William F. Huckabee, M.D.
1948George Thomas Shires, M.D.
1947John McLain Faggard, M.D.
1946Donald Sterling Brown, M.D.
Charles Louis Wisseman, M.D.
1945Glenn Ray Cherry, M.D.
Herbert Arthur Bailey, M.D.
1944W. Lee Hart, M.D.*
Milford O. Rouse, M.D.*
Ernest Lloyd Guy, M.D.
James Harold Johnson, Jr., M.D.
George C. Thorne, M.D.
Knox E. Miller, M.D.*
Tinsley Harrison, M.D.*
*denotes honorary Award

Honorary Founder Awards

1943Edward Henry Cary, M.D.
Donald Horace Slaughter, M.D.
George Thomas Caldwell, M.D.
Alfred Iverson Folsom, M.D.
Hugh Leslie Moore, M.D.
Jesse Bedford Shelmire, M.D.
Henry Morgan Winans, M.D.
Guy Ferguson Witt, M.D.