Over the past two years in celebration of our 75th anniversary, Southwestern Medical Foundation has honored and thanked the visionary community leaders who have helped build a world-class medical center and advance academic medicine, research and medical education.

We are pleased to announce that The Sprague Award for 2017 goes to Hoblitzelle Foundation, which has played a significant role in community service, continually helping to build the best science and medicine possible for the citizens of North Texas. To read more, please click here.

The Sprague Award – named for Charles Cameron Sprague, the first President of UT Southwestern Medical Center and former President and CEO of Southwestern Medical Foundation – is our highest community distinction. It was created in 1991 to recognize outstanding philanthropists who have provided significant support to advance health care through contributions of time, leadership and resources. 

A Tribute to Hoblitzelle Foundation: Winner of The Sprague Award for 2017

The Sprague Award for 2017
We'd like to thank our sponsors for their generous support:

Legacy Sponsor
     Miss Lyda Hill

Barnraiser Sponsor
     The David B. Miller Family Foundation
     Phyllis and Paul Seegers

     Carolyn and Jere Thompson Jr.

Friend Sponsor
     Della and Robert Best
     Jennifer and John Eagle
     Lori and David Haley
     Locke Lord/Stuart Bumpas
     Nancy Cain Marcus
     Ray Nixon
     Gay and Bill Solomon
     Lisa and Mac Tichenor

Community Sponsor
     Vin and Caren Prothro Foundation
     Andrew Lawrence
     Mike A. Myers Foundation
     Peter Kraus
     Luther King Capital Management
     Bank of America / US Trust
     Stephen Sands / Rosewood Foundation
     Jan and Fred Hegi
     Sandra and Henry Estess​
     Arlene and John Dayton​

The Sprague Award winners
We are grateful for their outstanding leadership and support

2017   Hoblitzelle Foundation

2013   Linda W. Hart and Milledge A. Hart III
           Terry and Robert B. Rowling

2012   Ute Schwartz Haberecht and Dr. Rolf R. Haberecht
           Lyda Hill
2011   Mary McDermott Cook
           Vester T. Hughes
           Robert W. Korba
2009   Nancy Dedman
           Rachael and Robert H. Dedman
           Patty Dedman Nail
2007   Madeleine and T. Boone Pickens
2006   Nancy Ann and Ray L. Hunt
           Sammye and Mike A. Myers
           Charlene and Lee Raymond
2005   Sydney and J. L. Huffines
           Laura and John L. (Jack) Roach
2004   Gay F. and William T. Solomon
2003   Jerry Farrington
           F. B. Pete Goldman
2002   H. R. “Bum” Bright
           Earl A. Forsythe
           Jean and Tom Walter Jr.
2001   Caren H. and Vincent Prothro
           Jean and Bob Smith, MD
2000   The Honorable and Mrs. William P. Clements Jr.
1999   Adelyn and Edmund Hoffman
1998   Nancy G. Brinker
1997   Margot and Ross Perot
1996   Julia T. and Louis A. Beecherl Jr.
           Nancy B. Hamon
           Sarah M. and Charles E. Seay
           Charles C. Sprague, MD
1995   Ruth Collins Sharp Altshuler
           Joe M. Dealey
           Annette and Harold C. Simmons
1994   Paul M. Bass Jr.
           Jess Hay
           Donald Zale
1993   Cecil H. Green
           J. Erik Jonsson
           George L. MacGregor
           Mrs. Eugene McDermott
           Edith and Peter O’Donnell Jr.
           Ralph B. Rogers
1991   James W. Aston