The Cary Council hosted An Evening with DocStars on May 1, 2021 as a safe, yet interactive, drive-thru pick-up party on the UT Southwestern campus for ticketholders and sponsors. For the safety of our community, we are recrafting this year’s event to align with the present while preserving the interactive, hands-on activities that distinguish this event from any other! This year, we are bringing the party to you as we practice being safe at home a little longer.  

The pick-up party will include everything you need to bring the event home with different stations to collect fun swag, at-home experiment kits created by our very own DocStar grant recipients, tasty treats, a photo opportunity, and more – all from the comfort and safety of your car! And that is just the beginning. We’ve worked with all of our former DocStar grant recipients to think outside the box for experiments that go inside of a box, creating engaging activities for all to enjoy once you get home. We invite you to grab your quarantine crew, make it a date night in, or bring the science lab home to your kids with this year’s version of An Evening with DocStars – from home.

We hope that you will join us in supporting promising, early-stage biomedical research through The Cary Council’s An Evening with DocStars.

E V E N T  C O – C H A I R S :

Grace Cook

Alexandra Kahn

C H A I R :

Amanda George

About The Cary Council

The Cary Council is dedicated to carrying on Dr. Edward H. Cary’s legacy to “inspire a great citizenship to greater deeds.”

In September 2015, Southwestern Medical Foundation and UT Southwestern launched the Cary Council, a group of emerging community leaders, whose mission is to support and strengthen the work of the Medical Center and Foundation. The Council was created to educate the next generation about the critical role medical research, education, and patient care plays in improving our health and making Dallas a world-class city. 

Funds raised from An Evening with DocStars support young UT Southwestern investigators working on promising early stage research. Finalists will be chosen by UT Southwestern faculty and the recipient(s) will be selected by the Cary Council. Funds raised since the 2017 inaugural event have enabled the Cary Council to give nine substantial grants to young researchers to further their work, resulting in $6.8 million in additional funding.

Cary Council Steering Committee

Amanda George, Chair

Josie Sewell

Amanda Shufeldt

Grafton Ifill

Mills Weinmann

Lana Constantine

Pete Dale

Grace Cook

Brittny Allred

Jacob Jones

The Founder’s Circle

Michael Kahn, Founding Chairman

Annika Cail

Michael Gregory

Anders Fisher

Kate Morris

Nancy Collins