Headshot of Kathleen Gibson relating to her message of medical progress in 2022.

Dear friends, 

As we reflect on the progress of 2022, we hold the deepest gratitude for our partners, supporters, team, and advocates who help us lead and inspire a higher standard in medicine.  

Southwestern Medical Foundation was established to fill critical gaps in health care. We continue today with an unwavering focus on making the highest impact, providing sustainable, permanent support for the academic discovery, training, and innovation our community deserves.  

Our generous community has long walked alongside UT Southwestern Medical Center’s tremendous growth and their achievement of international recognition. The Medical Center is leading transformational initiatives such as the new RedBird campus serving South Dallas County and the Peter O’Donnell Jr. School of Public Health, which is training the needed next generation of public health experts. We thank those who have joined us to make such tremendous medical progress possible in 2022. 

We end the year with hearts warmed, by opportunities to reconnect and celebrate momentum.  

Progress in Medical and Community Leadership

In the spring, we welcomed six new Trustees and our new Chairman, Jere W. Thompson, Jr. 

Jere Thompson Jr. standing at podium.
Southwestern Medical Foundation Chairman, Jere W. Thompson, Jr., speaking at the Inspiring a Higher Standard in Medical Education scholarship reception.

In the fall, we honored Maureen and Robert Decherd, Nancy and Jeremy Halbreich, and The Thompson Family with our highest distinction, The Sprague Award, for the extraordinary contributions they have made to advance the health of our region.  

Potential for Medical Progress in Early-stage Research

The Cary Council hosted An Evening with DocStars, their fourth immersive event unlike any other, spotlighting innovation at UT Southwestern and honoring recipients of their Early Stage Research Grant. The Council has awarded 15 of such grants since 2017, which have provided critical seed funding, and attracted $9.4 million in additional follow-on funding. The potential for medical progress from our DocStars has never been brighter.

The 2022 Docstar recipients: Dominic Moon, Robin Higashi, and Proshad Efune.
Highlighting medical progress with our 2022 DocStars: Dominic Moon, M.D., Robin Higashi, Ph.D., and Proshad Efune, M.D.

Looking Forward

With your support, we join together to continue toward a bright 2023 and our mission and progress continue to prosper. We wish you and yours a joyous holiday season and an abundance of health and happiness in the New Year.  

With all best wishes, I am 

Kathleen Gibson