In 1943, at the first meeting of the Board of Trustees of Southwestern Medical College, the Board voted to establish an annual award to recognize the medical student who best exemplified the ideal physician envisioned by the founders.

The Ho Din Award was then instituted by Southwestern Medical Foundation to recognize those who exemplify the unique personal qualities embodied in all great physicians – knowledge, understanding, and, most of all, compassion. Ho Din, which represents “the spirit of medical wisdom and human understanding,” has been a hallmark of excellence at UT Southwestern for more than 70 years and is the foremost honor bestowed on outstanding seniors.

In special circumstances, it may be awarded to faculty members or administrators who have exemplified the spirit of Ho Din through their service to humanity.

Ho Din Award winners

2019 Bethany Werner, M.D.
2018 Philip D. Tolley, M.D.
2017 Lauren Elizabeth Kolski, M.D.
2016 Samuel T. Parnell, M.D. Donald W. Seldin, M.D.*
2015 Laurie Seidel, M.D.
2014 Andrew Avery, M.D.
2013 David Leverenz, M.D.
2012 Thomas Heyne, M.D.
2011 Geof LeBus, M.D.
2010 Michael Van Hal, M.D.
2009 Tyler Hollmig, M.D.
2008 Sara Lindsey, M.D. Joshua D. Mitchell, M.D.
2007 James B. Cutrell, M.D.
2006 Hayden Schwenk, M.D.
2005 Michael Paul Herman, M.D.
2004 William F. Schmalsteig, M.D.
2003 James Isbell, M.D.
2002 Christine Kulstad, M.D.
2001 Preeti Malladi, M.D.
2000 Kerry Brandt Dunbar, M.D.
1999 Lance E. Oxford, M.D.
1998 Shannon Neville, M.D.
1997 David W. Wimberley, M.D.
1996 Ruby Elizabeth Andrews Kassanoff, M.D.
1995 George N. Papaliodis, M.D. Charles Cameron Sprague, M.D.*
1994 Joe K. Wells III, M.D.
1993 Robert Charles Kowal, M.D.
1992 Thomas Alonzo West, M.D.
1991 Patricia Ashley, M.D.
1990 Mary Bridget Carter, M.D. Bryan Williams, M.D.*
1989 Philip Anthony George Karpos, M.D.
1988 Mary Zieglschmid-Adams, M.D.
1987 Clifford Richards Lyons, M.D.
1986 Preston H. Blomquist, M.D.
1985 David L. Klamer, M.D.
1984 Lucien M. Rouse, Jr., M.D.
1983 Elizabeth Albright Schneider, M.D.
1982 Scott Pearson Stringer, M.D.
1981 Barry M. Rose, M.D.
1980 George Frederick Leatherman, M.D.
1979 Michael F. Knox, M.D.
1978 Paul Richard Vanatta, M.D. Steven Milton Walther, M.D.
1977 Susan Elizabeth Epstein, M.D. Roy Steven Paulson, M.D.
1976 Charles Prentice Crumpler, M.D.
1975 Turner M. CaIdwell Ill, M.D.
1974 Steven Edward Zinn, M.D.
1973 Barbara Elizabeth Murray, M.D.
1972 Joseph Earl Davis, Jr., M.D.
1971 Kent Eugene Rogers, M.D.
1970 Hayden Lester Klaeveman, M.D.
1969 James Clark Huff, M.D.
1968 Walter Lee Peterson, Jr., M.D.
1967 William Larkin Berry, M.D. Jonas Edward Rosenthal, Jr., M.D.
1966 Joseph Leonard Goldstein, M.D. Kaye Evan Wilkins, M.D.
1965 Charles Lynn Skelton, M.D.
1964 Marshall Drue Denton, M.D.
1963 James Henry Herndon, Jr., M.D. Stanley Augustus Lightfoot, M.D.
1962 Kenneth Lecil Ford, Jr., M.D.
1961 Charles James Carrico, M.D.
1960 William Darrell Willis, Jr., M.D.
1959 Billy Paul Kincaid, M.D. Kenneth Marvin Wiggins, M.D.
1958 Billy Wayne Henderson, M.D.
1957 George Ellison Hurt, Jr., M.D.
1956 Rolland Clinton Reynolds, M.D.
1955 Mary Alice Bone, M.D.
1954 David Crittenden Hazeltine, M.D.
1953 Charles Patrick Oles, M.D. Patrick Franklin Rose, M.D.
1952 John T. Binion, M.D. Cesar A. Collazo, M.D.
1951 Sherman Tipton Coleman, M.D.
1950 George Alva Edwards, M.D.
1949 William F. Huckabee, M.D.
1948 George Thomas Shires, M.D.
1947 John McLain Faggard, M.D.
1946 Donald Sterling Brown, M.D. Charles Louis Wisseman, M.D.
1945 Glenn Ray Cherry, M.D. Herbert Arthur Bailey, M.D.
1944 W. Lee Hart, M.D.* Milford O. Rouse, M.D.* Ernest Lloyd Guy, M.D. James Harold Johnson, Jr., M.D. George C. Thorne, M.D. Knox E. Miller, M.D.* Tinsley Harrison, M.D.*
* denotes Honorary Award

Honorary Founder Awards

1943 Edward Henry Cary, M.D. Donald Horace Slaughter, M.D. George Thomas Caldwell, M.D. Alfred Iverson Folsom, M.D. Hugh Leslie Moore, M.D. Jesse Bedford Shelmire, M.D. Henry Morgan Winans, M.D. Guy Ferguson Witt, M.D.