Southwestern Medical Foundation was started in an effort to foster the advancement of medical research, education and patient care. Throughout our history, the Foundation has helped institutions like UT Southwestern Medical Center attract and recruit some of the most brilliant minds to their graduate program where many remain to continue their medical careers. The Medical Center has produced 5 Nobel Laureates, and includes 20 members of the National Academy of Sciences and 18 members of the Institute of Medicine.