SWMed_CullumLCHOn April 7, 2014 Southwestern Medical Foundation’s “Leading the Conversation on Health”, held their second in a series of “Fireside Chats”, in the Pecan Room at Old Parkland

These conversations are designed to bring together a diverse community of thought leaders focused on the future of health and provide a means to better understand the extraordinary strides being made in academic medicine, education and clinical care in the Dallas area.

The event was hosted by Bill Solomon, Kathleen Gibson, and Harlan Crow, whose Crow Holdings restored the old Parkland Hospital and campus.Old Parkland was the original teaching hospital for Southwestern Medical College, which was started by the Foundation on the Old Parkland Campus.

The speakers were 2 of the 6 Nobel prize winners from UT Southwestern, Bruce Beutler, MD, and Joseph Goldstein, MD. Dr. Goldstein is Chair of Molecular Genetics at UT Southwestern and Dr. Beutler is the Director of the Center for the Genetics of Host Defense.

Introductions were made by Daniel Podolsky, MD, and the event was moderated by Lee Cullum.

The two Nobel laureates discussed the future of biomedical research and inspired outstanding  questions from the audience.

April Event Photos

SWMed_VideoLCHOn November 24, 2014, filmmaker, journalist and broadcaster Quin Mathews screened a series of film clips,  “How Dallas Brought a Great Dream to Reality,” the third “Leading the Conversation on Health” event at Old Parkland.

“One of the most remarkable stories in Dallas history is the unique way in which the Foundation came together to create one of the leading medical research centers in the world,” said Mathews.

“As the Foundation celebrates its 75th anniversary, we are indebted to the donors and founders whose vision and generosity have indeed advanced the goal of building one of the finest medical centers anywhere,” said Foundation President Kathleen Gibson.

Some of the guests in attendance included: Foundation Founder grandson, Edward H. Cary, III, Honorary 75th Steering Committee Chairs Edith and Peter O’Donnell, 75th Steering Committee Chair Bill Solomon, Foundation Chairman Bob Rowling, and Foundation Board members including: Sara Albert, Jill Bee, Gil Besing, Dan Branch, Harlan Crow, Bob Dedman, Tom Dunning, Bob Estrada, Jeff Heller, James Huffines, Dr. Daniel K. Podolsky, Linda Robuck, George Seay, Trinka Taylor, Dr. Kern Wildenthal, Dr. Kneeland Youngblood and Don Zale.

November Event Photos