Robert Miller     The Dallas Morning News

The Southwestern Medical Foundation lets scholarship donors meet the future doctors they are helping through medical school at its annual luncheon.

The event on February 10 at the T. Boone Pickens Biomedical Building at UT Southwestern was hosted by the foundation to recognize and thank philanthropists.

This year, Southwestern Medical Foundation donors gave $246,000 in scholarship funds to 178 students, many of whom were at the luncheon to thank their benefactors in person.

“We appreciate the vision that our donors have in recognizing that these scholarships help to attract some of the finest students in the country who so well represent the future of great medicine,” said foundation president Kathleen M. Gibson.

Southwestern Medical Foundation manages $10 million in endowment funds.

Wes Norred, UT Southwestern vice president for student and alumni affairs, said donors help shape the future of biomedical research and patient care. “Your support energizes these young men and women to be the best and brightest in their field. Your investment is helping inspire the next generation of visionaries in the medical community.”

Guests at the luncheon also included staff members, doctors and teachers from the medical school and members of the foundation’s board and Heritage Society. The Heritage Society honors people who include the foundation or UT Southwestern in their estate planning.

William T. Solomon, board chairman of Southwestern Medical Foundation, thanked donors for investing not only in the students, but also in their community. “By helping each of these bright young students reach his or her full potential, you’re helping society as a whole by ensuring that UT Southwestern continues to be one of the world’s pre-eminent academic medical centers.”

Several students expressed gratitude to the philanthropists.

“I am the first in my family to become a doctor,” said Sarah Ho, a first-year student. “My parents are farmers. I could not have done this without you.”

Reese Mathieu IV, a fourth-year student and class president, said: “Thank you for the part you play in keeping UT Southwestern the best medical school in Texas, if not the country.”

Scholarships to UT Southwestern students are provided from such funds as the Dr. E. H. Cary Scholarship Fund, Martha and Robert Click Scholarship Fund, Frances B. Conroy Scholarship Fund, Dorothy R. Cullum Scholarship Fund, Felix B. and Josephine I. Goldman Trust Fund, Dr. J.A. Majors Scholarship Fund, Mr. and Mrs. M.A. McBee Scholarship Fund, Dr. M. Hill and Dorothy Metz Scholarship Fund, Morning Star Family Foundation Scholarship Fund, Shirley P. Pollock Scholarship Fund, Ralph B. Rogers Scholarship Fund, Harold B. and May E. Sanders Scholarship Fund, Anne C. Schoellkopf Scholarship Fund, Jay Simmons Scholarship Fund, Dr. Richard M. Smith Memorial Scholarship Fund, Alayne and Charles C. Sprague M.D. Scholarship Fund, S. Edward Sulkin M.D. Scholarship Fund, Judith R. Tycher Scholarship Fund and Dr. Bryan Williams Medical Student Scholarship Fund.