Inspiring a Higher Standard in Medical Education starts with our medical students. They are the future of medicine and the Southwestern Medical Foundation and our Donors are committed to supporting students at UT Southwestern Medical School so that they may one day lead innovation for the health and well-being of our community. Our 2022 Medical Scholarship Reception was an event that honored both the hard-working students and the scholarship donors who are investing in their future.

Inspiring a Higher Standard in Medicine
2022 Photo Gallery

Medical Scholarship Reception 2022

We were honored to welcome such well-accomplished guest speakers to our 2022 medical scholarship reception. Dr. James ‘Brad’ Cutrell is an Associate Professor in the Department of Internal Medicine at UT Southwestern Medical Center and a member of its Division of Infectious Diseases and Geographic Medicine. He is also the Director of the Infectious Diseases Fellowship Program, and Co-Director of the annual Updates in Internal Medicine course. Dr. Cutrell received the Southwestern Medical Foundation’s Ho Din Award in 2007. Dr. Cayenne Price is the 2022 Ho Din Award recipient and a current Resident in the Anesthesiology department at UT Southwestern. Dr. William Turner is a Professor in the Department of Surgery at UT Southwestern Medical Center. Dr. Turner holds the Carla and Paul Bass Professorship in Medical Education Honoring Charles C. Sprague, M.D., and the Alvin Baldwin, Jr. Chair in Surgery. He is also Master of Sprague College at UT Southwestern.

“I think giving really binds the community and the donors and the Foundation to the institution. It’s a significant investment in the future of the institution. The community supports UT Southwestern and our hospitals and our students and our researchers and all of those really, I think in a unique way that’s different. Not every academic medical institution experiences that.”

James ‘Brad’ Cutrell, M.D.

These three leaders in medicine discussed the importance of medical education and its impact on public health. In attendance were about 15 UT Southwestern medical students who have received scholarships to continue their medical education at UT Southwestern.