A group of dedicated pediatric otolaryngologists has given $160,000 to foster education and research in their field at UT Southwestern.

The gift from the Children’s Medical Center of Dallas Otolaryngology Trust will establish the Clinical Otolaryngology Faculty Professorship in Pediatric Otolaryngology, which will be held by Dr. Peter Roland, chairman of otolaryngology; the Clinical Otolaryngology Faculty Lectureship in Pediatric Otolaryngology; and the Clinical Otolaryngology Resident Lectureship in Pediatric Otolaryngology.

The trust was created in 1969 by Dr. Marvin “Cub” Culbertson Jr., a pioneer in the medical specialty and one of the first pediatric otolaryngologists in Texas. Dr. Culbertson, a longtime UT Southwestern faculty member, established the fund with several colleagues to offset educational and clinical expenses of medical residents and fellow faculty members.

Contributors to the fund include Drs. Evan Bates, Jerry Copeland, William Crutcher, Daniel Dansby, Sam Huggins, Lav Kapadia, Tom Lunsford, Trevor Mabery, Robert Peters, Don Shannon, Frank Theilen, Gene Thomas, Neil Williams and Bernard Yollick. Several significant gifts to Children’s Medical Center Dallas have been made through the fund, including a $20,000 gift in 2010 to support hospital expansion.