Ho Din Award

The Ho Din Award was instituted by Southwestern Medical Foundation in honor of Dr. Edward H. Cary to recognize those who exemplify the unique personal qualities embodied in all great physicians – knowledge, understanding, and, most of all, compassion. Ho Din, which represents “the spirit of medical wisdom and human understanding,” has been a hallmark of excellence at UT Southwestern for more than 70 years and is the foremost honor bestowed on outstanding seniors.


The Foundation Celebrates Partnership with DFW Albert Schweitzer Fellowship+

Caren Prothro and Ruth Altshuler shepherd development of the new DFW chapter.

Read More+ 7 months ago

Foundation Announces Dr. Samuel Parnell Winner of 2016 Ho Din Award+

James Huffines presented the award during UT Southwestern graduation ceremonies.

Read More+ 11 months ago
, ,

2016 Annual Meeting, May 26, 2016+

Photos from the Annual Meeting of the Board of Trustees on May 26, 2016.

Read More+ 12 months ago

Foundation Reception Honors Dr. Donald W. Seldin+

His contributions to medicine and years of service to the Foundation are recognized with the 2016 Ho Din Award.

Read More+ 1 year ago
, ,

Dr. Laurie Seidel Wins Foundation’s Prestigious Ho Din award+

Former U.S. Sen. Kay Bailey Hutchison presented the award at UT Southwestern’s graduation ceremonies.

Read More+ 2 years ago

Promising Surgeon Receives Foundation’s Ho Din Award+

Andrew “Drew” Avery, MD, is the latest to receive the prestigious award.

Read More+ 3 years ago

David Leverenz Receives Foundation’s 2013 Ho Din Award+

Given to a UT Southwestern senior who best the exhibits the qualities found in great physicians.

Read More+ 4 years ago